Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two by J.K. Rowling and John Tiffany

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two by John Tiffany

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a very so-so novel for me. I wanted to love it but it definitely fell short of my expectations.

I feel torn with this book, it had moments that I really loved but I feel a lot of those were simply playing on old emotions from the original Harry Potter books. The plot is very bizarre (I have a feeling it would be much better to actually go and see this played out rather than simply reading the stage directions) – I found myself laughing at how ridiculous the story was and couldn’t quite believe this came from the same woman who brought us the other books.

A very quick read – it’s definitely one you could get through in an afternoon, I am glad I read it but don’t think I’ll be picking it up again in the future. I would however love to see it enacted on stage.

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two by J.K. Rowling and John Tiffany

  1. neverlannd93 says:

    I think the main problem with this is detail. As it’s meant to be seen rather than read I feel that a lot of the magic is lost thought I definately enjoyed part one more than part two. Also as it’s a play I feel that things were just too convenient. But I liked getting some closer on characters such as Draco as you don’t really know what happens to him in Deathly Hallows since he runs off.

Leave a Reply

